Palm Sunday

Palm Sunday

California, 1991 – I stood under the tall palm tree…amazed!  It was the first palm tree I had ever seen in person. The huge, leafy branches hung out over the sand, blowing and dancing in the breeze. It was a beautiful, calming sight.  My mind turned to a picture of the people putting down palm leaves for Jesus as he entered Jerusalem. How bitter-sweet it must have been for him to see the people honoring him as King, but for all the wrong reasons!  They thought he was going to be the One who delivered from the oppression of the Romans; when, really, he wanted to deliver them from the oppression of their sin.

Often our prayers are for deliverance from earthly problems, conflicts and difficulties. We need to remember to praise Him in our prayers, not only for His deliverance from everyday problems, but also His deliverance from sin. Honoring Jesus as King means praising Him for delivering us from sin and death.  As we look ahead today to Easter Sunday, we realize the real reason to praise Him. His death on the cross delivers us from sin, and makes it possible for us to have life!

            As you praise Him today on Palm Sunday, remember to praise Him for His greatness in overcoming sin for us, delivering us from the Kingdom of Darkness and transferring us into the Kingdom of Light!

4 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    April 1, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Joanna, thank you for this reminder. So easy to have my eyes on things of this world. Thankyou for bringing me back to the cross and all that Jesus has done for me. Even if the Cross is the only good thing in my life this week, that’s all I need!! He has given me Everything there!! Jesus!! I am so unworthy!! I miss you friend.

  2. Margaret Pollock said,

    April 2, 2012 at 3:41 am

    Lovely, just the words needed for today. Thank you.

  3. Denise said,

    April 4, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    Bless you.

  4. Ms. Kathleen said,

    April 5, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    Have a blessed Easter Season! Rejoice and praise him always!

    http://theemptynestexpress.com


Leave a comment