God Listens

Image

God Listens

Jeremiah 33:3a – “Call unto me and and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things…”

After having brain tumor surgery, I was in the ICU at the hospital for weeks.  There, I had a nurse named Liz. Her family was originally from the Bahamas, so she had the remnants of an islander accent. I was never as happy as when I heard that accent on the other side of the curtain.  She was the best nurse I’ve ever had! And it wasn’t because she was the sweetest, kindest nurse I have had.  In fact, she was mostly matter of fact, firm, and business-like.  But….She listened.  She didn’t ignore me when I rocked back and forth in my hospital bed because the pain in my head was overwhelming.  She matter-of-factly told me that I needed to calm down and stop crying because it would only make my head hurt worse.  But… she got me the pain medication that I needed.  She had to tell me the hard things and show me the not so pleasant things.  But….She listened.  She answered my questions, even though they were most likely quite obvious to her.  She didn’t get annoyed when I asked her the same questions for the fifteenth time.

Liz is a good reminder to me of how God listens to us.  When we pray for something for the fifteenth time, when we cry out to him because the pain of our heart seems too overwhelming, when we just need someone to hear us, He is there.  He answers us with what He knows is best for us, which may not be what we requested.  But His love for us gives what we need, and comforts our hearts through difficult times.  God gives us the encouragement we need in Jeremiah 33:3 when He says, “Call unto me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things….”  God listens to us, answers us, and gives us what we need.  Take comfort in knowing that God listens.

5 Comments

  1. Patti said,

    January 10, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    Perfect timing for me. Thank you Jo.

  2. Alida said,

    January 18, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    Amen…what a great word for today!

  3. Denise said,

    January 19, 2012 at 12:47 am

    Such an encouraging word.

  4. March 22, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    This is so true and what a blessing to find a nurse who truly knows how to listen – and truly cares about her patients. God is so good and loving.

  5. March 22, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    This is so true and what a blessing to find a nurse who truly knows how to listen – and truly cares about her patients. God is so good and loving.


Leave a Reply

