I Be Like You

 “Therefore, be imitators of God as beloved children…” Ephesians 5:1

She came in to my room, all excited to show me her “surprise.”  As she burst in, she said, “I be like you, mommy!  I be like you!”  To my amusement she had concealer on her eyelids, lipstick every which way, and nail polish on her fingernails! (Well, sort of on her nails)  I couldn’t help but laugh, but not too hard so as not to disappoint her. J  It took a half-hour to get off the makeup and nail polish, and another half-hour to put the nail polish back on correctly – But it made my day!  The look of pure joy on her face as she presented to me what she thought was being like mommy.

            This was a poignant reminder to me of how God wants us to be imitators of Him.  As we go throughout our daily routine, we should try to keep this in mind. Asking ourselves the question, “Is what I’m saying or doing, imitating the God I love?”  If only it were as easy as putting on some makeup! It takes a daily dose of the Word of God in our lives to help us keep focused on imitating Him. If you can picture the pure enjoyment that comes from watching a child imitating someone he/she loves, you can imagine the joy God must feel when He sees us working to imitate Him!

2 Comments

  1. Marlena said,

    January 23, 2011 at 1:57 am

    Very true. God so enjoys us bearing his resemblance. It gives him a special delight. Also, what an iconic picture of your daughter wanting to be like you. How beautiful. Thank you!

    • January 23, 2011 at 3:18 am

      Thanks Marlena! Although my daughter didn’t do exactly this (I borrowed the story), she did do a similar “surprise” when she was young 🙂 Thanks for your encouraging words! Hope all is well with you all.


Leave a Reply

