Happy New Year

 

Resolutions Worth Keeping

Happy New Year! These three words conjure up all kinds of images in my mind:  Everything from favorite movies that featured a New Year’s celebration as a backdrop to memories of friends and family over for a party. For some people, it brings haunting, lonely memories of times gone by with a loved one who is no longer with them.  For others, it conjures up mixed feelings of hope for accomplishing the goals they have set, and trepidation for fear of failing to meet those goals.  But whatever the case, facing the New Year can be a time for reflection as we look to a time of new beginnings.  We often start these new beginnings with resolutions of some sort: to be better, more diligent, or in better shape. However, I am not a big fan of these resolutions.  In fact, I always hated New Year’s resolutions, because I never kept any of them! So, it seemed very unrealistic to me to even try to make any.

 However, I think resolutions can serve a purpose in our lives. Resolutions are an everyday of the year kind of thing … not just a New Year’s Day event.  Even the Bible talks to us about having resolutions to live by. Listed below are passages that give us some resolutions that can encourage us in our lives. As you ponder these, think about making a different kind of resolution this year:  Not the kind that may or may not help you lose weight, write more letters, or get out of debt.  Instead, make your resolutions the kind that will help you live godly each day of this year. Here are just a few of the verses I found:

In I Corinthians 6:15, it tells us to “ …stand firm in the faith…”

*How do we practically do this resolution? The next few verses are some of the ways I have found that Scripture gives us to stand firm.

 In Daniel 1:8, it tells us that Daniel “purposed in his heart that he would not defile himself…” 

            *For Daniel, this was a choice not to eat the king’s meat which had been offered to idols.  For you and me, this choice will be different.  In what ways can we purpose in our heart that we will not defile ourselves because we are the “temple of the Holy Spirit?” (I Corinthians 6:19)

 Psalm 17:3 says, “I am purposed that my mouth shall not transgress.”

*What a hard resolution this is! There are many ways we can purpose to keep our mouths from slander, gossip, anger, complaining.  The book of Ephesians gives us many ways in which we can avoid transgressing with our mouth.  The best way is to give thanks and have a thankful heart. (Ephesians 5:20)

 The last verse I want to share is one that gives me hope that the resolutions I make will come about in my life.

 In Ephesians 6:14, it says to “stand firm with the belt of truth buckled around your waist…”

*I love this one, because telling yourself the truth about God and his work in your life is the key to standing firm in your faith. Truth wins out in the end.  It trumps fear, doubt, and discouragement.

 So, as you head into this New Year, may you find some resolutions in the Bible that will be meaningful in your life and may you be encouraged in your walk with the Christ.

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Dale W. McNally said,

    January 23, 2011 at 6:46 am

    I have always hated New Years Resolutions too. What a great perspective you have given. Food for thought.


Leave a Reply

