Guest Contributor Cindy Rooy

THE PHONE CALL EVERY PARENT DREADS

By Cindy Rooy

The telephone rang. “Is this Cindy Rooy?”

“Yes.”

“Cindy, do you have a daughter named Julie?”

“Yaesss…”

“My name is Laura and I’m a nurse at ORMC hospital. We have your daughter Julie here with us.”

“What happened?” I asked, wondering what sport injury she had now.

“She’s been in a car accident.”

“Is she ok?”

“No, I’m afraid not. You need to make arrangements to come to the hospital, Cindy.”

“How bad is it?” No answer. “What happened to Julie?”

“Cindy, I’m going to have the doctor talk to you now.” A physician told me that my daughter had massive internal injuries including a lacerated kidney, a collapsed lung, and a severely damaged liver. She arrived by helicopter, had already received six units of blood, and is on a respirator.

Stunned, I heard myself ask, “Is she going to live?”

He hesitated before replying, “We don’t know the answer to that.”

Panic stricken, I called my husband and a few relatives. I tried to pray but couldn’t focus long enough to find the words. Instead, I frantically requested prayers from my church and Facebook friends.

While preparing for the unexpected trip, questions for God kept surfacing. “Are You going to let her die? What is Your plan for Julie? Why would You take her life now?” Despite a racing heartbeat and a mind running wild, I wholeheartedly believed that God had control over my daughter’s body. But I feared the outcome because He already allowed the accident and injuries to happen. I painfully wondered what life would be like without my daughter.

Several hours later in Florida, my husband and I found our child in the trauma ICU, hooked up to many monitors and machines, and alive. We were updated on the extensiveness of her injuries and how precarious her condition was. Already numb, I had difficulty absorbing all the information. The situation felt surreal.

Why does God allow His children to suffer? The Lord teaches us about Himself during our tough times. He is attentive to our cries and becomes our Comforter, Healer, and overall Provider. He uses adversity to draw us into a deeper relationship with Him. We are comforted when we remember that this life is temporary, but our next one is eternal, joyous, and without tears. “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him” (1Corinthians 2:9). We persevere through our difficult times by looking for God’s involvement and trusting Him.

As details surrounding the accident were revealed, God’s activity became apparent. Two ICU nurses immediately appeared at Julie’s side after she landed on the pavement. The police report, damage to the scooter and helmet, and Julie’s injuries don’t mesh. Her blood pressure bottomed out but she didn’t die.

God’s mercy was noticeable, even through certain hospital staff and classmates. His help was observed in various ways. A room was available to rent at the hospitality house one block away. Spiritual encouragement and loving support were given by our church family and friends, and over 650 miles away, we were visited by both. And I was made aware of the many prayers being said for Julie when I still couldn’t pray. Gifted with an unclaimed, fitting cell phone charger from the hospital’s security lockup when I forgot mine, getting coffee by mistake on Julie’s breakfast tray when I craved it, and witnessing answered prayers for specific needs in her recovery were obvious provisions in this ordeal. Furthermore, Julie missed three weeks of lectures, labs, and assignments, took her exams without being able to catch up or study for them, and still passed her classes. She also received needed help in moving to another apartment, and her job remained secure. The Lord’s power was seen in her body and her mind, and He provided for her new needs and mine.

Julie’s recovery has been a rollercoaster ride of ups and downs. While her condition improved amid complications and unbearable pain, she now has physical restrictions and financial problems to overcome. Yet, I firmly believe that God can turn this disaster into something good. He is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine! (Ephesians 3:20). The Lord has plans for every person (Jeremiah 29:11); perhaps my daughter’s life may become a bright testimony to others of God’s grace, healing power, and provision.

©Cindy Rooy 2010 

Cindy Rooy is the author of a six-week Bible study, Trusting God Through Trouble & Tears, and a contributing author in several devotional books. She is also a columnist for three newspapers and an inspirational speaker. For more information about her book and ministry, visit Cindy’s website at www.cindyrooy.com.

4 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    September 29, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Amazing testimony of the FAITHFULNESS of God…

    Bless your heart. I’ll pray for her FULL recovery…

  2. Cindy Rooy said,

    September 29, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Prayers are always appreciated for her full recovery! Update: Julie’s latest catscan shows that her internal organs are healing. Although her liver is upgraded from critical to serious condition, she still has physical restrictions for the complete healing and regenerating of her liver.

  3. Denise said,

    September 29, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Saying prayers.

  4. Angie said,

    January 4, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    Oh my. I am in awe. This experience of God’s unseen–but EVER FELT hands is one my own life has mirrored. Bless you for sharing this incredible story of faith in action!


Leave a Reply

