Earth Day – A Celebration of God

Earth Day – A Celebration of God

And God saw everything that He made, and behold, it was very good. Genesis 1:31a

As I admired God’s handiwork this morning, I was amazed at the detail with which He created earth.  The dew on the flowers and grass was minute, and above them was the towering pillar of an oak tree in all its majesty.

The shimmering grass looked like a blanket of crystals, and the flowers shown brilliantly with the magnification of the dew on their petals.  This beauty was created by God for our enjoyment.  As the celebration of Earth Day takes place today, I wonder if we take time to stop our busy lives, go outside, and slowly look around at all that God has for us in our very own backyard.  I wonder if we celebrate the Earth because of our God who created all of its splendor and majesty.

As you go throughout your day, make a special effort to notice the amazing craft of the God of the Universe as you see His artwork displayed all around you.

All pictures © Joanna Shumaker

2 Comments

  1. Angie said,

    April 22, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    INCREDIBLE! The beauty that surrounds us and we so often neglet to thank HIM for that! Thanks for the reminder!!

  2. Karina Olson said,

    April 23, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Thanks for the reminder Jo. So often as a backlash against some of the paganism and seeming anti-christian nuances of environmentalism, Christians seem tempted to disdain the importance of our role as stewards of the environment. Gods glory is always so easy for me to observe in the new waves of color that are spring about me everywhere these days. My brown grass has turned vivid green, I am seeing beautiful red bud trees and forsythia, and I am some wildlife seems to have eaten a number of my bulbs last winter… so I am trying not to covet the armfuls of daffodils and tulips in the neighbors yard. Your words are an encouragement Joanna, because God’s amazing Spring display fills me with wonder and awe… So with you, I praise Him.


Leave a Reply

