Jack of All Trades

Jack of All Trades

“…but Mary has chosen the better part…”  Luke10:42

           As I sunk into the couch at 9 o’clock at night, I thought to myself, “What am I accomplishing with my life?”  My résumé read like a job list of three people, not one person.  I worked three part-time jobs to make ends meet, coached two sports “on the side,” took pictures of local events as a freelance photographer and it all seemed overwhelming. As I looked at my life, I felt like “a jack of all trades and a master of none.” 

            Juggling often defines women during our lives.  We juggle home, work, kids, and even vacation.  We often feel disillusionment because we don’t think we are playing a significant role in one area, but a mediocre role in many areas.  We get so caught up in the multi-tasking that defines our lives; God and His plan for us are lost in the shuffle. 

            We can learn a great perspective from the example Mary & Martha.  In Luke 10, Martha was juggling preparing supper and entertaining guests. These were all necessary preparations, but she was so caught up in them that she forgot the one important preparation for her life.  She needed to sit and listen to what Jesus said.  Mary, on the other hand, sat at Jesus’ feet and listened.  In the midst of your busy, multi-tasking life, focus on your relationship with God and living life to honor Him.  You may still be the jack of all trades, but you can work at mastering one thing – honoring and listening for God in your life.  When the hustle and bustle of life overwhelm you, remember Mary’s example and come to the feet of Jesus to sit and listen.

Questions to Ponder:

When did you last come to the feet of Jesus, read His words to you, and listen?

How can you make listening to Him a priority in your life?

2 Comments

  1. Leah said,

    February 28, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    You are saying what my heart has said for a long time. My resume is like a shopping list of professions that one could apply for as well. I have been pulled in and out of each one for a specific reason but it doesn’t read well of stability to a new employer.
    But God was in it all and I knew it was best for that particular season of my life, so I went on trusting Him.
    This is where I am today wondering and waiting for my next assignment know well where He guides, He provides and that suits me well.
    Thanks for your reminder and your faithfulness to His word in your life.

    • March 1, 2010 at 1:38 am

      Thanks Leah for sharing. You are an encouragement to me! I’m glad you were blessed! Joanna


Leave a Reply

