Guest Contributor, Linda Casto Lloyd

 

The Promise Kept

By Linda Casto Lloyd

On the eighth day, when it was time to circumcise Him, he was named Jesus, the name the angel had given Him before He had been conceived.  When the time of their purification according to the Law of Moses had been completed, Joseph and Mary took Him to Jerusalem to present Him to the Lord (as it is written in the Lawof the Lord, ‘Every firstborn male is to be consecrated to the Lord.”)  Luke 2:21-23 NIV

I love it when I have a “light bulb moment,” when my eyes and mind are finally opened and I can see the Scriptures a little more clearly.  I had one of those moments when I was reading in Luke 2.  I think there are certain passages that I’ve read so often, either on my own or at church that I let my mind be lulled into a stupor of sorts.  The “Christmas chapter” of Luke 2 is such a place.  When I read this passage this year, it was so meaningful to me.  I used to look at this passage and think I knew it all, but this time I read it with a new understanding.

In Luke 2, it says that on the eighth day, when it was time to circumcise Him, He was named Jesus, the name the angel had given Him before He had been conceived.  When the time of their purification, according to the Law of Moses, had been completed, Joseph and Mary took Him to Jerusalem to present Him to the Lord. This sounded familiar to me, so I really didn’t have any intention of investigating further.  However, a cross reference caught my eye that led me to Exodus 13. This was a reference to the law that every firstborn man or animal should be dedicated to God. The important part of the passage is the reason they should be dedicated to God.  It said, “This is why I sacrifice to the LORD the first male offspring of every (animal) womb and redeem each of my firstborn sons.” (Exodus 13:14-15) Then the light bulb went on!  Every time a firstborn was dedicated, it was to be a visual reminder of how God kept his promise to deliver the children of Israel from slavery. Did you catch that? Jesus, the firstborn of Mary and Joseph, was dedicated in a ceremony that was a reminder to all those around Him of a promise kept to Israel more than a thousand years before He was born!

Deliverance past and present met in that one holy moment.

Isn’t it beautiful and amazing how Scripture fits together?  God the Father was continually pointing forward to His Son from Genesis through Malachi.  Right from the beginning it has been about Jesus.  Even the dedication of an Israelite first born child pointed to the coming of Jesus.

            What does this mean to us?  It means that we can be confident in Jesus’ promise to us of Heaven.  It means when we read of death being swallowed up in victory and losing its sting, we know that our deliverance is as good as the Promise kept to Israel!

            Merry Christmas everyone! Enjoy this time of celebrating God’s fulfilled Promise to us!

Leave a Reply

