Joy in Serving Jesus

          I took the opportunity to rest while my children were taking a nap.  I woke up to hear some pounding in the bathroom. “Uh-oh,” I thought, “they’re awake!”  I rushed down the hall afraid of what I might find. I opened the door to find my four year old son with the toy hammer beating on the rim of the toilet! He turned around with a big grin and said, “Mommy, I fixing the potty and she cleaning!” In front of him was his one year old sister, in her diaper, pacifier in mouth, a winter hat on her head, and his Awana “Cubbie” vest over her onesie.  “I gave her my hat and “Cubbie” vest cuz she was cold,” he announced proudly. She was playing in a bowl of water, happy as a lark!  What a picture of joy to see their faces! How could I reprimand them? They were “helping” mommy and so proud of it!

          This was a great reminder to me of the joy that comes from serving Christ. When we are pleasing Him and doing His work, it brings a smile to our faces and a joy in our hearts! Romans 12:1 is an encouraging verse to go to when we get bogged down in the troubles and struggles of everyday life. I love the translation which calls our sacrifice a “spiritual act of worship.” It is a poignant reminder to focus on the fact that we are pleasing God by our service and we can look up at Him with a great big grin and in effect, say, “I love doing this for you!” When you’re tired and worn out in your daily service for Him, remember that He is pleased by your service and that you have brought Him joy.

1 Comment

  1. Betsy said,

    November 30, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Great reminder. Thanks


Leave a Reply

