Guest Contributor – Carol King

j0441734

Walk by the Spirit

Gal. 5:16  But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not carry out the desire of the flesh.

Walk – paripateo: to makes one’s way, progress, to make due use of opportunities; Hebrew for to live, to regulate one’s life, to conduct one’s self or pass one’s life.

 So what does it mean to “Walk by the Spirit?”  This appears to be one of those questions people struggle with, to figure out exactly what it means.  However, I wonder if it is truly all that difficult to understand.  Consider that walking in the Spirit might be as simple as to make one’s way or conduct one’s life by the power of the Holy Spirit, to live out our faith influenced by and with a desire to be conformed to the Holy Spirit.

 Or look at it another way: we talk about knowing someone by the company he or she keeps, recognizing that we carry the image or reflection of those we allow closest into our lives. One can assume that we agree with and value the same things that our friends do.  I think of Psalm 1 where the psalmist says, “Don’t walk, Don’t stand, Don’t sit, with those who scorn.  (Hmmm, that might even include some professing believers.)  The idea is that the more intimate you are with people, the more you will be influenced by them.

 So, walking by the Spirit would seem to imply that we need to surround ourselves, fill our minds with the things of the Spirit.  To me, that would mean I should fill my mind with the truths of the Spirit, the Word of God.  I should create quiet spaces where I can give myself to meditation on the Person of God and His Word, asking God to make it clear what Scripture means and how I can allow it to permeate my life.  I should have conversations with God, talking with Him about everything that matters to Him and to me.

 I think about what a “best friendship” looks like, what a love relationship looks like, and I think I can learn from these relationships a little about what it looks like to walk in the Spirit, developing such an intimate relationship with the Spirit that it becomes clear to me which desires please Him.  I would then have a corresponding power to recognize and resist the desires of the flesh, and exercise the desires which would honor and please Him.

 This walk requires attention: the evil one would put many barriers in our paths, may lies to distract us, and even good things to get in the way of the best. 

Oh, Most High and Lovely Lord, may I reflect on you and your love all this day.  May the words of my mouth and the actions of my body bring glory to you.  May my life reflect that I would be good company to keep because I reflect your image.

3 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    November 9, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Beautiful reflection on the truth of our relationship with the Lord. Thank you.

  2. Liz said,

    November 22, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    What a great way to visualize the Holy Spirit, as your “best friend”. 🙂

  3. sista42 said,

    November 28, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    This was definitely a great reminder how our image and actions should be directly with the spirit and it’s purpose for our lives.

    Thank you,


Leave a Reply

