A Bird’s Eye View

flock of birds 

A Bird’s Eye View

“Look at the birds of the air, they do not sow or reap, they do not store up their food in barns, and yet your Heavenly Father feeds them.  Aren’t you worth more than they are?”  Matthew 6:26

Of course, the answer to this rhetorical question in Matthew is, “Yes, you are worth more than they are!”  If we have a God that cares for the birds in this way, what tenderness and compassion that shows!  The Sovereign Lord of the Universe cares about whether birds, one of the smallest creatures on earth, have something to eat!  We can have confidence that He has that same tenderness and compassion for us.  This can change our view of God and help us see Him as friend and Father.  Although seeing Him as King and Ruler is important to our view of Him as Sovereign Lord of the Universe, we should also remember Him as our compassionate Caregiver. There are times in life where we do beg God for help:  times of crisis and times of heartbreak.  But when we view Him as if He were a king who might or might not help us, and so we must beg and plead our case, we have lost sight of the caring Father that He is.  He values us highly and we are His prized possession.  Think about resting in the arms of God as your Father who only wants what is best for His child.  Consider changing your view of God and see if doesn’t make a difference in your everyday life!

1 Comment

  1. Karina Olson said,

    October 20, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    We can have confidence that He has that same tenderness and compassion for us. This can change our view of God and help us see Him as friend and Father. Although seeing Him as King and Ruler is important to our view of Him as Sovereign Lord of the Universe, we should also remember Him as our compassionate Caregiver.

    It is easy sometimes to think we need to talk God into helping us!! It is silly isn’t it. It may be that we think of God as being removed or out of touch with our situation because we have an image of Him as “King and Ruler” which is important to our view of Him as “Sovereign Lord of the Universe.” and when that is our understanding He would seem rather dispassionate and removed from our circumstances. I don’t usually fall into that category, because I am well aware that He is my Heavenly Father. I think it is because I imagine that he is a parent in my image, instead of our parenting being a dim reflection of His.

    People frequently have a paradigm that extrapolates things in this way… I was (and all of mankind) was created in the image of God, so I look at my characteristics and imagine… So if I was a thousand times more forgiving, or a thousand times more patient or athousand times more merciful… I would be like this and we imagine something way better than we are and say… “That must be how God is.” I typically am not worried that the God of the Universe is unaware of or unconcerned about me. I am praying to talk my “busy parent” who somehow isn’t seeing the reality of my circumstances, So I will go and talk him into seeing things “from my perspective” as my own kids do with me.

    Ultimately though, the issue isn’t which misperception am I holding to and why… the real issue is that God is who He is and He wants to reveal Himself to me so that I can authentically worship, love, obey, enjoy and know Him as He is. And so I turn to His Word and remember His promises to me, His beloved daughter who longs to obey and live by faith in His Covenant… He will be Faithful to His promises… He is the I am and He is so much more…

    God is the perfect or complete reality and essence of every virtue… He isn’t loving… HE IS LOVE [ ἀγάπη/CARITAS -I John 4:8], He isn’t just Honest… HE IS TRUTH [ἀλήθεια /VERITAS – John 14:6] He isn’t merciful sometimes when he feels sorry for us, ALL OF HIS WAYS ARE MERCY [MISERERE/ἐλεήμων Psalm103]. For those of us who are His children, redeemed by His Son and living within His covenantal love, we don’t have to remind, cajole, convince our Father to help us, love us, remember us… We have to remind ourselves that He is with us in every circumstance to give us the grace and mercy to see it through for His glory and our good.


Leave a Reply

