A Woman of the Word

j0441734

Be a Woman of the Word

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.” Psalm 119:105

            One of my earliest memories of my mother is seeing her sitting in the rocking chair reading her Bible. One day, I picked it up and saw all the marks beside each chapter. I asked her what they were and she said they were for every time she read the chapter. I was amazed by the number of marks beside each chapter of the Bible. Besides spending time with God, she said that reading her Bible gave her guidance and help for living her life. Naturally, I grew up with the confidence that if I too read His Word, I would find the guidance and help I needed. My mother’s devotion to God’s Word made an indelible impression on my young mind.

            As we deal with the pressures of marriage, motherhood, career and relationships, our Bible reading often goes by the wayside. Yet, it is the very encouragement we need to thrive during this time of life. The book of Proverbs is full of passages which encourage us to follow God’s principles. I Peter 2:1 encourages us to desire the Word in our lives the same way a newborn desires milk. Interestingly, this desire for God’s Word is in response to seeing the goodness of God. One of the best ways to “see” the goodness of God in the midst of trials is to remember His goodness in the past. It drives us back to the Word to look for more of Him. Romans 12:1-2 encourages us to transform our lives by renewing our mind. What better place to renew our minds and keep our lives on track than reading the very words of God?

            In the fast pace of life, remember to make the Word of God a frequent part of your life. It will give you teaching, correction, and training as you navigate this journey in life. It will keep you coming back for more insight, perspective and guidance.

5 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    August 21, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    All I can say is “Amen!”
    Linda

  2. Trish said,

    August 21, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    Wow, what a great idea! I’m going to mark my Bible like that, too. I’ve never heard of doing that before.

  3. Patrice said,

    August 22, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Thanks. This was so on point!

  4. Susan said,

    August 22, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Beautifully written and expressed–thank you for reminding me.

  5. Amy j said,

    November 30, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    What an excellent reminder. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

