Stop & Smell the Roses

j0390493

Stop and Smell the Roses

“….but Mary has chosen the better part.”  Luke 10:42

The laundry is overflowing, the dishes are in the sink, we have no milk, and do my children have clean underwear to put on? These are the thoughts racing through my mind as I try to get everyone up and ready to go for the day! I must be a bad mom – no, wait – I must be a normal mom! Every mom thinks this at one time or another….. right? This time of life is complex and crazy! You never feel like you are quite caught up with the things that need to be done. However, this is when you need to take time “to stop and smell the roses.” The dishes will get done, the laundry will get done, but being a harried, frustrated woman will not make anyone’s day enjoyable. 

We sometimes have a hard time balancing kids, house, work and church while still taking care of ourselves. In the midst of busy lives, hectic schedules, meeting everyone else’s needs, how do you take time for yourself? When I was in college, a professor of mine gave me counsel on a decision I had to make about being involved in yet another activity on campus. As I gave him my list of pros and cons in regard to the decision, he sat for awhile and looked at me and then said, “When do you take time for yourself? If you burn yourself out, then you cannot serve God anyway.”  This was not the response I expected. I thought to serve God was to “burn out for Jesus.” Take time for myself? Wouldn’t that be selfish? He showed me passage after passage where God set an example for us to take time to rest.

Although all women may not be busy in the same way, we still need to take time for ourselves and rest our spirits. God gives us a great example in the story of Mary and Martha. In Luke 10:41, Jesus is spending time with Martha and Mary, and Martha is running around getting everything ready for dinner, while Mary is sitting at Jesus’ feet, drinking in all of His words.  Martha demands that Jesus make Mary get up and help her and he says to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried about many things, but Mary has chosen the better part.” 

Learning to stop and enjoy God and all that he has given us is a better choice. When the burdens of everyday life grow large, go to God, sit at His feet and ask Him to help you slow down and enjoy Him and the life He has given you.

4 Comments

  1. Cathy said,

    August 5, 2009 at 5:20 am

    Thanks Joanna! Needed that today. Finding it difficult to get that alone time in the midst of all that is going on right now, and I am out of my normal routine. Say thanks to your dad for telling me about this site, and please pray with me that I would “Be still” and choose the “better part”.

    • August 5, 2009 at 5:23 am

      Glad you enjoyed it and were encouraged! This is why I write them. To encourage us as women during this difficult phase of life 🙂

  2. Trish said,

    August 5, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Jo–were you in my house today?? Seriously, God had this for me today. It is soooo hard to find alone time. I was encouraged today to re-evaluate my priorities and make sure I am not just doing things because they are good but rather doing things to please God and know that I have ample time for myself and more importantly my family.

  3. Julie Anne said,

    August 8, 2009 at 3:02 am

    Yep, I am learning that taking time for myself won’t be beneficial if it’s wasted on the computer or something else… time in God’s Word is truly rest!!


Leave a Reply

