Peace be still

peaceful

Peace, Be Still

…and the peace of God, which passes all understanding, shall keep your heart and mind.  Ephesians 4:25

            The silence is deafening, and then the humming and clicking of the MRI machine starts.  It surrounds me.  I close my eyes so that I will not feel the enveloping space I am in.  I feel the panic coming when I realize that on my own, I cannot get out.  I am left to the mercy of others, and hope they are compassionate enough to get me out, if I cannot breathe.  And then ……A still small voice.

            It whispers, “Peace, be still, for I am with you.”  And the calm that comes from those simple words overcomes the fear of that tight, small space in which I cannot breathe.  The air becomes lighter and I see the beauty that surrounds me.  Through the small round opening at the end of the tube, I see sunlight streaming into the room.  A group of green plants fill the room with growth and life.  I am at peace when moments before I had been in fear. 

            God has an amazing way of calming our hearts.  He is the peace that surpasses all understanding.  And if we focus on whatever is true, just, right, and holy, He promises to calm our mind and heart.  Through the adversity and trials of life, you can count on him to be the still, small voice that keeps you calm.  Even when circumstances surround you and overwhelm you, making it hard to breathe, He is there.  Go to Him, rest in His arms and listen for His voice as He whispers His presence to you.

2 Comments

  1. Trish said,

    June 12, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    I actually had to have an MRI done not long ago–I became SO scared that I told them to get me out!! Good for you that you were so brave–I need to reschedule that appointment someday. . .

  2. michelle kramp said,

    August 22, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    joanna! loved this one! just discovered a verse in zephaniah that tells me that God wants to “quiet me with His love”. i have been praying that again and again over the past few weeks!


Leave a Reply

