Walking with our Children

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

dsc010121

                      ©Joanna Shumaker

Walking With Our Children

 

Ephesians 6:4 – Avoiding anger in your discipline, bring your children up in the training and instruction of the Lord.”

 

 As my daughter and son were arguing with each other in the back yard, I yelled at them for yelling at each other.  I called them in and sent them to their rooms to think about using gracious words and not harmful words.  A little while later, I went in to talk to them and my daughter reminded me “but Mom, you said to be gracious with each other, but you were yelling at us.”  This was not what I wanted to hear and I wanted to say, “Do what I say, not what I do!”  Instead, I was quickly reminded that I had not been a good example, because I was worried about what people would think if they saw my children fighting.

When it comes to children, our fear factor goes off the charts.  We are innate nurturers and we are the single most influential factor in our children’s lives.  We naturally feel responsible for their actions and attitudes.    Our fear of embarrassment because our children do not behave in a prescribed manner often pushes us to be demanding and harsh with them instead of patient and kind.  Yes, it is a great responsibility to “bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord”, but we must not let our pride get in the way of the process.  What we need to realize is that they are a gift from God, not objects to be cajoled and controlled into making us look good as parents. We are to walk with them, not behind them directing their every move for fear of their mistakes.  As we go throughout our life, we are to teach them as we interact with them and become part of their lives.  We must avoid dealing with our children out of fear and instead deal with them in the spirit of grace.  Find ways to show grace to your children and walk with them.  ©  

 

4 Comments

  1. Cheryl (Bryan) Rohrscheib said,

    March 17, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Jo, God has blessed you with lots of wisdom, lady. Keep it coming!

  2. tracy martin said,

    March 17, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    Thank you for your honesty and sharing this truth. You have been an encouragement to me today.

  3. Yinka Fadahunsi said,

    March 18, 2009 at 3:44 am

    When I was a kid I was so sure I had it all figured out and of course I was going to be the perfect mum. God is so wise, he didn’t say much he just made me a mum & so the circle continues!!!

  4. Karina Olson said,

    March 30, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    So often I have caught myself “yelling at” to be more patient with one another. It is interesting to see how sneaky my flesh is at violating the “codes” that I so want to see governing our children’s lives.


Leave a Reply

